Printer Friendly, PDF & Email

Here is the area's best calendar of events for visitors For your convenience we present the events calendar in a number of formats  

Calendar of Events nameplate

Please note: Because of restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic, most in-person events have been cancelled. We will not be publishing the biweekly Calendar of Events until in-person events can resume.

The San Pedro area hosts a variety of great events every year. Click here for the Events Listing

Click here for information about submitting your events to our calendars

2021

Saturday, April 17

Bleacher Bums Virtual Reading

7 p.m.

In the bleachers at Wrigley Field, die-hard Chicago Cubs fans root for their team—and they’re all characters. Presented by Little Fish Theatre on Zoom. www.LittleFishTheatre.org

Also Sunday, April 18, 2 p.m.

Gathering for the Grand

7 p.m.

Virtual Silver Screen Soiree virtual event to celebrate the Warner Grand Theatre’s 90th anniversary year. Tickets include voucher for take-out prix fixe dinner from La Bocca Felice, party treat box with dessert, cocktail/mocktail kit, commemorative program, and party favors. www.GrandVision.org

 

Sunday, April 18

Oscar Nominated Shorts-Animation

 

6:30 p.m.

Showing of five animated shorts nominated for Academy Awards this year, plus three additional animated shorts from the AMPAS shortlist. Warner Grand Theatre, 478 W. 6th Street, Downtown San Pedro. 310-548-2493, www.SPIFFest.org. $18/$15

Note: Only 100 tickets on sale for each night of the Oscar Nominated Shorts Series in compliance with governmental COVID-19 requirements

Saturday, April 24

Earth Day Plant Sale Pick Up

9 a.m.-Noon

Pick up purchases from online native plant sale going on from April 13-20. White Point Nature Preserve, 1600 W. Paseo del Mar, Peninsula. www.PVPLC.org/shop/plant-sales

Premiere: Richard II - staged reading

2 p.m.

A lead-in to the presentation of Richard III coming in June. Presented by Little Fish Theatre on Zoom. www.LittleFishTheatre.org

Oscar Nominated Shorts – Documentary Shorts

6:30 p.m.

Showing of five documentary short films nominated for the Academy Award. Warner Grand Theatre, 478 W. 6th Street, Downtown San Pedro. 310-548-2493, www.SPIFFest.org. $18/$15

Note: Only 100 tickets on sale for each night of the Oscar Nominated Shorts Series in compliance with governmental COVID-19 requirements

Sunday, April 25

Sunday, May 2

Wednesday, May 5—Cinco de Mayo

Thursday, May 6

First Thursday Armchair Art Walk

6 p.m.

A virtual event with artists and experts. Presented by the San Pedro Waterfront Arts District on Zoom and Facebook Live. Details at www.1stThursday.com or www.Facebook.com/SPWArtsDistrict

Starry, Starry Night - Vincent van Gogh

6 p.m.

A virtual presentation on the myth and history of van Gough by Bob Yassin. Showing the painter as a person, artist, and powerful figure in modern art. Includes dinner package with wine (to be picked up at PV Art Center). Palos Verdes Art Center, 5504 Crestridge Road, Rancho Palos Verdes, Peninsula. 310-377-2141, www.PVArtCenter.org. $75 (Ticket sales end May 2 at 6 p.m.)

Sunday, May 9

Monday, May 10

Tuesday, May 11

Wednesday, May 12

Thursday, May 13

Friday, May 14

Saturday, May 15

Pygmalion Premiere

7 p.m.

A virtual presentation of the classic Shakespeare tale of the transformation of a young woman’s life and both a timeless and timely comedy about love, feminism, and classism. Presented by Little Fish Theatre. https://shakespearebythesea.secure.force.com/ticket/#/

Runs online through Saturday, May 15 at 7 p.m.

Bird Rescue’s Groovy Gathering to Celebrate 50th Anniversary

6 p.m.

A choose-your-own virtual adventure on Zoom with trivia games, short lectures, keynote speaker, virtual bar, and live auction. Secret recipe sangria pre-show at 5 p.m. with DragTaste (drag queens from Portugal). Presented by International Bird Rescue. https://www.biddingforgood.com/auction/communicate/eventtickets.action?…

Sunday, May 16

Monday, May 17

Tuesday, May 18

Wednesday, May 19

T

hursday, May 20

Friday, May 21

Saturday, May 22—National Maritime Day

Sunday, May 23

Monday, May 24

Tuesday, May 25

Wednesday, May 26

Thursday, May 27

Friday, May 28

Saturday, May 29

Sunday, May 30

Monday, May 31—Memorial Day

Tuesday, June 1

Wednesday, June 2

T

hursday, June 3

Friday June 4

Saturday, June 5

Sunday, June 6

Monday, June 7

Tuesday, June 8

Wednesday, June 9

Thursday, June 10

Friday, June 11

Saturday, June 12

Sunday, June 13

Monday, June 14

Tuesday, June 15

Wednesday, June 16

Thursday, June 17

Friday, June 18

Saturday, June 19—Juneteenth

Sunday, June 20

Monday, June 21

Tuesday, June 22

Wednesday, June 23

Thursday, June 24

Friday, June 25

Saturday, June 26

Sunday, June 27

Tall Ship Island Adventure Sea Camp 2021

On board Los Angeles Maritime Institute’s twin brigantines and schooner.

Day Camp: Explorer Camp for ages 6-10 at the dock in Long Beach Rainbow Harbor with an optional overnight sleepover at sea.

Five-day: Adventurer Camp and Two- and three-week Voyager Camp (ages 10-17). Explores topics in marine biology, maritime history, island ecology, and traditional maritime arts.

N

o sailing experience necessary.

Day Camp: Explorer Camp

Monday, June 28 – Friday, July 2

Land, Sea, and Sky Explorers

Monday, July 12 – Friday, July 16

Community Explorers

Monday, August 9 – Friday, August 13

Coastal Explorers

 

Five-Day Adventure Camp

Monday, June 21 – Friday, June 25

Land, Sea, and Sky

Monday, July 5 – Friday, July 9

Myths and Legends

Sunday, August 1 – Friday, August 6

Salty Scientists

 

Two- and Three-week Camp: Voyager Camp

Monday, July 5 – Sunday, July 18

Land, Sea, and Sky (2 week)

Sunday, August 1 – Sunday, August 22

Land, Sea, and Sky (3 week)

Sunday, August 8 – Sunday, August 22

Fear Factor (2 week)

Monday, June 28

Tuesday, June 29

Wednesday, June 30

Thursday, July 1

Friday, July 2

Saturday, July 3

Sunday, July 4—Independence Day

Friday, September 3-Monday, September 6

LA Fleet Week

Times vary

Navy ship tours, exhibits, demonstrations. www.Facebook.com/LAFleetWeek/

Sunday, September 5

Monday, September 6—Labor Day

Friday, September 10 & Saturday, September 11

The Original Catalina Wine Mixer

3 p.m.-11 p.m.

World renowned annual event for wine and food lovers. Descanso Beach Club, 1 St. Catherine Way, Avalon, Catalina Island. www.VisitCatalinaIsland.com/catalina-wine-mixer/

Thursday, September 16—Yom Kippur

Monday, October 11—Indigenous Peoples’ Day

Sunday, October 31—Halloween

Sunday, November 7—Daylight Saving Time ends

Thursday, November 11—Veterans Day

Thursday, November 25—Thanksgiving Day

Monday, November 29—Hanukkah begins

Friday, December 24—Christmas Eve

Saturday, December 25—Christmas Day

Friday, December 31—New Year’s Eve

2022

Saturday, January 1—New Year’s Day

The information in this calendar comes from a wide range of sources and may not necessarily have the most current details. Please contact the producers for the latest status on their events